Concealed Weapons Permit
Contact: Shannon Travis
Any Questions Call: 304-728-3205
Q. How do I apply for a permit in WV?
A. At the office of the Sheriff in your county of residence. Complete an application and show original certificate of training. NRA Personal Protection Class or similar training. Show them your driver’s license or issued ID card.
Q. How much will I pay for my license?
A. A total of $105.00. You pay $80.00 to the Sheriff at the time you apply. If and when your application is approved, you pay an additional $25.00 prior to issuance of the license. These fees are not refundable. CCW fee is payable by check or cash (exact change), no credit cards accepted.
Q. How long after I apply will I get my license?
A. After you file your application, the Sheriff, or his/her designee, will conduct an investigation to verify that the information you have given on your application is true and correct. Falsification of any portion of the application constitutes false swearing and is punishable as a misdemeanor offense. The sheriff shall issue or deny the license within 30 days of the date you filed the application if all background checks are completed, and no later than 45 days. You will be contacted by phone.
Q. For how long is the license valid?
A. Five years from the date of issuance, unless sooner revoked. Licenses are valid throughout the state during the 5-year period of issuance.
Places where citizens cannot carry weapons (even with a license):
All Federal restrictions apply. Federal Buildings, Post Offices, Military Compounds, Federal Courthouses, Etc.; including phone companies; on any school property; including school buses, any facility being used for a school function; on the premises of a court of law (including county courthouses and the State Capitol building); in a State Police office; and in any private residence or business so posted. Some municipalities also have laws against carrying weapons on city property. Anywhere a sign is posted saying no Firearms Allowed. The signs do not have to be of any set size or design.
Car/Gun law summary: You CANNOT carry a loaded Long gun in a vehicle. The West Virginia Supreme Court ruled that you cannot carry a LOADED HUNTING GUN in a vehicle. This would include any handgun with a Scope on it or a real long barreled handgun usually used in hunting.
Carrying without a CCW permit: WV law permits anyone who can lawfully possess a handgun to carry an unconcealed handgun. If you choose to carry an unconcealed handgun in your vehicle and you are stopped for a traffic violation, you must understand that the handgun will immediately attract the attention of the police officer. The presence of the handgun may lead to action by the officer such as drawing his or her weapon, ordering you from your vehicle, and performing a pat-down search. Vehicle stops are inherently dangerous for police officers and these actions have been held to be lawful by the United States Supreme Court. (In other words you will be hassled and it is probably not worth it)
Area Concealed Weapons Instructors:
The following states honor WV Concealed Weapons permits:
Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Florida, Idaho, Indiana, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri,
For more information visit: